Tearless Teethers – Review

When Elliott was a baby everyone in my online baby club was raving about amber teething necklaces and how they were the best thing EVER. In the end I was persuaded and gave one a go and it was the best thing EVER. However after the first one we started to get problems with being sent replacements that were fake and so when Sam became quite desperate for his first necklace  I decided to pick one up at the baby show so I could actually see it before I bought it.

Going around Excel I couldn’t find a single stand selling amber, I think there had been about 3 at Earls Court but it’s always the way when you actually need something. Towards the end of the day we came across a little understated stand tucked away at the back of the hall belonging to Tearless Teething

Tearless Teething are necklaces made of Hazelwood and are based on the discovery by Native Americans that Hazelwood could, amongst other things, soothe the pain caused by teething.

Speaking to the company owner the thing that struck me most was how passionate she was about her product and how she genuinely believed it really did do all the things that they were claiming The other thing I realised was how frustrated she had become as people were stopping, looking and just not believing them enough to make a purchase of these little necklaces.This proved out to me a week later when Sam went to his first baby massage class and one of the mothers began talking about the necklaces as she said that she had seen them at excel but didn’t purchase one as she really wasnt sure about them.

I can understand both angles, as parents we have all bought lemons for our children (silvercross 3d anyone?) and I think as time goes on we all become a bit more wary of things that claim to be miracle products. At the same time if you KNOW in your heart that your product will help people and all they have to do is take a small leap of faith it must be frustrating when no-body will.

With no amber at the baby show, an irritable baby and my willingness to give something unusual a try we agreed that we would try out the tearless teether on Sam.

The teethers come in 2 types one with pretty glass coloured beads in either pink, blue or clear

and another with very tiny amber beads

Now my natural inclination was to go for the amber but t was asked would I PLEASE test out the one with the glass beads because if it worked then I would KNOW it was the Hazelwood and not the amber – fair enough I thought.

Now I would love to be able to comment on this necklace’s abilities in all the areas the distributors claim, improvement in nappy rash, excema etc however luckily for Sam he has never been a sufferer of any such problems – however if you go along to the blog written by Summer Mama – she has kept a week-long diary on how effective it has been for combating her 18 month old son’s problems with some of these problems.

So where Sam hasnt suffered with anything other than teething pain and feeling unwell he has REALLY suffered with these, worse than Elliott ever was x3, he was having problems with it on and off long before he had anything even reach the surface of his gums and when his first 2 teeth came through he spent more than a couple of days extremely unwell with it, bad nappies, cold like symptoms, high temperatures and SCREAMING; he was that bad that I did consider getting him looked at by a doctor in case it wasnt teeth related.

I put the necklace on Sam as soon as he woke from his nap in the buggy and didn’t think anything else of it and since then he has lived in it, wearing it night and day – the one irritating thing about it is that although a lovely length the extremely lightweight nature of the necklace means that the clasp is heavier than the necklace or the beading and so gravity takes effect and it constantly works its way towards the front of the necklace leaving it on show and where it can get under his chin.

However something I do really like about the necklace is that you can leave it on all the time, even bathtime, which you can’t with amber – in fact with amber you can’t even get it wet but when it is caked in yogurt etc you don’t really have a huge amount of choice in the mater but this affects how well it works, you also have to regularly put it in sunlight to “charge” it and this isn’t  easy in winter or even knowing when your child isnt teething and its “safe” to remove for a few hours.The only time you have to take the Tearless Teething necklace off is when you go swimming, because of the chlorine in the pool, and this factor played into why I finally got to see the full effect of the necklace.

Last Sunday we took the boys swimming and so before leaving I took the necklace off Sam and popped it on the mantlepiece. When we returned I forgot all about it and we went to bed. Sam woke that night about 4-5 times, crying, seeming to be uncomfortable somewhere but it was unclear where, then he started to reject his dummy, rip it out his mouth and throw it as if it was hurting him to have it in his mouth. I started to think it may be his teeth. The next morning he was crying constantly, really unwell, extremely clingy,, extremely agitated and, for the first time in his life, off his food with the only thing he would take being breatmilk.I couldnt find his necklace for a good couple of hours because I had forgotten where I had put it and was very relieved when I did because I was starting to despair and consider breaking into the painkillers to relieve his symptoms.

I decided to put it on, give it an hour and see if there was any improvement in him and if there wasnt any to start with the whole Calpol and Ambesol routine. Within half an hour he was perking up and had stopped crying, within an hour he was obviously feeling better and had finally decided to get off my lap and go and play with his brother and by the evening you would never have realised that there had been anything wrong with him in the first place and he ate all his dinner to boot. In actual fact the picture of him above wearing the necklace was taken Monday afternoon eating a piece of cookie and the only evidence of him being unwell is the state of his hair and the little rash patch on his face that always comes out when he is sick.

In the days since he has been totally fine, no symptoms of teething or pain apart from a slight increase in his desire to chew and bite, I was just starting to wonder whether his problems on Monday had been down to teething or not and whether it was all my imagination but tonight I put my finger in his mouth to check his gums and low and behold his top two teeth are beginning to make an appearance and one is even breaking through the skin!

To me this proves to me that Tearless Teething necklaces actually work for Sam and I am thrilled with the results because, as I have said, he does seem to really suffer quite badly with his teeth. The only draw back with these necklaces are that they begin to lose their effectiveness after 2-3 months and need replacing; at a cost of £15.99 for one or £29.99 for 2  I’m not sure whether it will be affordable for us in the long-term but if we can Tearless Teething are going to be a product that are worth investment for our family and I would recommend trying them highly

Tearless Teething are on Facebook but they currently have very few followers so please pop along and say hi, tell them we sent you!

Leave a Reply

